The Book ThiefDreamingGoodnight Mister TomHeroesThe Hunger GamesKing ArthurLegendsMythsAssessment Task | MythologyNative American storiesNorthern LightsRefugee BoyShort StoriesVikings
Animal FarmJournalismA midsummer night's dreamNarrative PoetryPower of onePropaganda
Asian AustraliansAustralian IdentityBeat PoetryThe Chocolate WarThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeIndigenous PoetsThe Inner CircleJimmy CoatesLord of the FliesThe Merchant of VeniceParodyProtest PoetrySatireShakespeare | Romeo & Juliet
Gulliver's TravelsMacbethThe medium is the messageThe MessengerRacismTo kill a mockingbirdWar LiteratureWilfred Owen and WWI Poetry
ChaucerDraculaJourneysThe Kite RunnerOthelloVisual Literacy
BelongingBelonging | SkrzyneckiStandard | The Shoe-horn SonataStandard | The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeStandard | Billy ElliotAdvanced | Shakespeare | Richard IIIAdvanced | Looking for RichardAdvanced | FrankensteinAdvanced | Blade RunnerAdvanced | Shakespeare | HamletAdvanced | CloudstreetAdvanced | The Justice GameExtension 1 | Crime Writing
Careers, Education & CommunityDigital WorldsDigital Worlds | AvatarsDigital Worlds | Virtual ToursRev It Up!Car VideosLandscapes of the MindTravel WritingWe Are Australians
PoetsPoetry | Writing
News for TeachersScreen Education
Persuasive Texts | Picture Books
Online Comic Creators
Aboriginal TextsAsia and Australia's engagement with AsiaStories from ChinaStories from JapanStories from South AsiaSustainability
This is the "English" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English   Tags: books, drama, english, literacy, literature, poetry, shakespeare  

Resources for Year 7 - 12 students at Trinity Grammar School
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014 URL: http://trinity.nsw.libguides.com/english Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

English Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Blogs

Classics

  • Classic works online
    Classic works online From The British Library. Choose the 56kbps option to read the books online.
  • DailyLit
    DailyLit If you've ever wanted to tackle some of the classic great books, but just don't have the time, this site that gives you short installments by daily email.

English Language


The Open University

 

Confusing words

 

English

English

Welcome to Trinity Grammar School's English Guide.

 

Trinity's English page on Pinterest

 

How and Why we Read

"John Green kicks off the Crash Course Literature mini series with a reasonable set of questions. Why do we read? What's the point of reading critically."

Best of the Web

shmoop

Luminarium

  • Shmoop : Literature
    "Shmoop will make you a better lover (of literature, history, life). See many sides to the argument. Find your writing groove. Understand how lit and history are relevant today. We want to show your brain a good time"
  • Luminarium
    Anthology of British Literature. Works from The Middle Ages to the eighteenth century.
  • Invitation to World Literature
    Thirteen part series of videos about classic works of world literature.
    By David Damrosch.

General Reference


VOS


  • Voice of the shuttle
    Literature in English
  • The Cambridge History of English and American Literature
  • Literary criticism
    The IPL Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
  • The Modern English collection
    From University of Virginia Library. "This heterogeneous collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest." Includes literature in translation.
  • Verse Poetry anthologies
    The New Bartleby Library has published six original poetry anthologies covering American and English poetry, 1250-1920, that are searchable by keyword or browseable by author, title or first line.
  • ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection
    "The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period."
  • Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
    Dr. Kristi Siegel.
 

Mining literature for deeper meanings - Amy E. Harter

Writing a great English paper can be tough because literature doesn't always reveal its deeper meanings immediately. You might not know Mr. Darcy's true feelings for Elizabeth Bennett in Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice or grasp the complex moral universe of Toni Morrison's Beloved at first reading. Amy E. Harter offers a few tips on how to read and write more critically and thoughtfully.
View the complete lesson at TED-Ed

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center

 

JSTOR

JSTOR First time users Register here.

Australian Literature

AUSTLIT

ANZRC

anzrc

Student Research Center

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip